Hennessy

At level 13, the Mayfair offers the popular and sophisticated rooftop bar HENNESSY. This unique venue represents the height of city chic, with beautifully appointed and stylish interior spaces leading out to a glass-topped alfresco terrace and balcony.

A rooftop bar experience like no other, HENNESSY is named after our heritage listed CML building’s original architects – ‘Hennessy, Hennessy & Co’. This was the pioneering father and son 19th century architectural firm of John Francis (Jack) Hennessy Snr. and John Francis (Jack) Hennessy Jnr. The family originated from Cork, Ireland. The CML building in Adelaide was one of a number designed by Hennessy, Hennessy & Co across the Southern Hemisphere, and opened on 17th December 1934.

Today hotel guests and visitors enjoy a premium drinks menu featuring premium champagne, house cocktails, innovative and convenient snack food, personalised and welcoming service and views of vibrant Adelaide.

Mood and ambience are carefully crafted with live music Friday afternoons (listed below, summer only) and DJ entertainment Friday and Saturday evenings. Entrance to the bar is via the VIP Lift in the Mayfair Hotel lobby.

Live Entertainment Schedule:

  • Friday February 22: Sophie Orchard
  • Saturday February 23: DJ PA
  • Friday March 1: Josh Davies
  • Saturday March 2: DJ Dizzy
  • Friday March 8: Brad Lee
  • Saturday March 9: DJ Michael Constant
  • Friday March 15: Sax Bates
  • Saturday March 16: DJ Michael Constant
  • Friday March 29: Ed Trainor
  • Saturday March 30: DJ Dizzy

Due to its location and offering HENNESSY is in high demand, enquiries for medium to large group private functions are welcome (subject to availability, booking fees apply). Note: the Lounge area is only available for private hire Sunday - Thursdays. 

For HENNESSY special events visit our special events page

HENNESSY Opening Hours

  • Monday – Thursday: 4.00pm - 11.00pm
  • Friday & Saturday: 3.00pm – 2.00am
  • Sunday: 3.00pm – 10.00pm

Smart dress code applies, if this is not adhered to Hotel Management reserves the right to refuse entry.

HENNESSY Private Events 

HENNESSY may be closed at times for private functions and public holiday periods. Please refer below for altered trading hours. Mayflower Bar on the lower level will be open for drinks during these times as an alternative.

  • Saturday, 23 February – Full Venue Closed 16:00 – 23:00
  • Saturday, 2 March – Lounge Closed 16:00 – 0:00
  • Saturday, 9 March - Lounge Closed 17:00 – 0:00
  • Saturday, 16 March – Lounge Closed 18:00 – 23:00
  • Sat 30 March - Full Venue Closed

HENNESSY Easter Long Weekend Trade

Good Friday (April 19), Saturday (April 20) and Easter Sunday (April 21):

  • Open as normal

Easter Monday (April 22):

  • Closed

For all booking enquiries please contact our sales team on +61 8 8210 8888 or events@mayfairhotel.com.au


Virtual Tour





What's On

  • St Jerome's Laneway Festival

    St. Jerome's Laneway Festival is about leading new and revered seminal music. Laneway returns in 2019 to the historic site a.. Read More

  • Adelaide Fringe Festival 2019

    Australia's largest open-access arts event takes over Adelaide each year, the Fringe Festival. In 2019 the event will r.. Read More

  • Adelaide 500 - 2019

    The 21st edition of the Adelaide 500 will again open Virgin Australia Supercars Championship from 28 February - 3 March.. Read More

  • Stay Updated

    Receive the latest news, promotions and events

    Subscribe Here