Hennessy

At level 13, the Mayfair offers the popular and sophisticated rooftop bar HENNESSY. This unique venue represents the height of city chic, with beautifully appointed and stylish interior spaces leading out to a glass-topped alfresco terrace and balcony.

A rooftop bar experience like no other, HENNESSY is named after our heritage listed CML building’s original architects – ‘Hennessy, Hennessy & Co’. This was the pioneering father and son 19th century architectural firm of John Francis (Jack) Hennessy Snr. and John Francis (Jack) Hennessy Jnr. The family originated from Cork, Ireland. The CML building in Adelaide was one of a number designed by Hennessy, Hennessy & Co across the Southern Hemisphere, and opened on 17th December 1934.

Today hotel guests and visitors enjoy a premium drinks menu featuring premium champagne, house cocktails, innovative and convenient snack food, personalised and welcoming service and views of vibrant Adelaide.

Mood and ambience are carefully crafted with live music Friday afternoons (listed below, summer only) and DJ entertainment Friday and Saturday evenings. Entrance to the bar is via the Mayfair’s lower level, Mayflower Bar.

Live Entertainment Schedule:

  • Fri 14 December - Sophie Orchard
  • Sat 15 December - DJ Michael Constant 
  • Fri 21 December - Gab Hyde
  • Sat 22 December - DJ Michael Constant
  • Fri 28 December - Sax Bates
  • Sat 29 December - DJ Michael Constant 
  • Mon 31 December - TBA
  • Fri 4 January - Tom Kurzel
  • Sat 5 January - DJ Michael Constant 

Due to its location and offering HENNESSY is in high demand, enquiries for medium to large group private functions are welcome (subject to availability, booking fees apply). Note: the Lounge area is only available for private hire Sunday - Thursdays. 

For HENNESSY special events visit our special events page

HENNESSY Opening Hours

  • Monday – Thursday: 4.00pm - 11.00pm
  • Friday & Saturday: 3.00pm – 2.00am
  • Sunday: 3.00pm – 10.00pm

Smart dress code applies, if this is not adhered to Hotel Management reserves the right to refuse entry.

HENNESSY Private Events & Public Holiday Trade
HENNESSY may be closed at times for private functions and public holiday periods. Please refer below for altered trading hours. Mayflower Bar on the lower level will be open for drinks during these times as an alternative.

  • Fri 14 December - Full Venue Closed 12pm - 6pm
  • Sun 23 December - Open 2pm - 10pm
  • Mon 24 December - Open 2pm - 10pm
  • Tue 25 December - CLOSED (Christmas Day)
  • Wed 26 December - Open 2pm - 10pm (Boxing Day)
  • Sat 29 December - Open as normal
  • Sun 30 December - Open as normal
  • Mon 31 December - Open for Special Event (ticketed, bookings essential)
  • Tue 1 January - CLOSED
  • Thu 3 January - Full Venue Closed
  • Sat 5 January - Lounge 5pm - 9pm
  • Wed 16 January – Terrace Closed 3pm – 10pm
  • Sat 2 February – Full Venue Closed 6pm – close
  • Sat 23 February – Full Venue Closed 3pm – 11:30pm
  • Sat 2 March – Lounge Closed 7pm – midnight 
  • Sat 16 March – Lounge Closed 5:30pm – 11pm
  • Sat 23 March – Terrace Closed 3pm – 6pm
  • Sat 30 March - Full Venue Closed

For all booking enquiries please contact our sales team on +61 8 8210 8888 or events@mayfairhotel.com.au


Virtual Tour





What's On

  • Adelaide 500 - 2019

    The 21st edition of the Adelaide 500 will again open Virgin Australia Supercars Championship from 28 February - 3 March.. Read More

  • Stay Updated

    Receive the latest news, promotions and events

    Subscribe Here